Day Five: The Dailey Method

Summary:

Class: The Dailey Method Lincoln Park – Mixed

Duration: 50 minutes scheduled, went for an hour with extra stretches afterward (but people could leave if they needed to)

Intensity: 4/5

Fun: 4/5

The Dailey Method is another studio that does barre-style classes, similar to days one and three that I’ve posted. Basically a full-body toning and strengthening class with tiny movements and high repetitions. And man, does it seem to work. Since it’s only been five days, I haven’t noticed much change in my body yet, but I feel every single workout in so many places the next day, so I know it’s doing something good! Today’s class particularly challenged my legs, and we did several exercises with bands (stretchy rubber things) that moved my legs in ways that I couldn’t have come up with on my own. It got a lot of inner- and outer-thigh work in, and I had to take breaks every so often just to make sure I wasn’t going to collapse (as is the norm for me in barre-style classes).

The instructor, Natalia, was great – super helpful, very encouraging, and fixed my (and others’) alignment when I was doing things incorrectly without making me feel dumb, which is definitely a skill. She even followed up with an email thanking me for coming in to class and offering to answer any questions I had – a really nice, personal touch.

The studio is a little under a mile from my apartment, which is really convenient, so I walked (yes, in the 25 degree weather) there and back, which was a nice way to warm up and cool down from the burn of the barre. I’ll definitely be back!

Leave a comment