Day Three: Barre Code (bu-dum tssss. get it?)

Okay I have to start by saying I love the name of this studio. The logo is exactly in line with it, as well. Here’s a link to the Barre Code website.

Summary:

Class: Barre Code (the signature/typical class at this studio)

Duration: 50 minutes

Intensity: 5/5

Fun: 4/5

*Bonus note 1: definitely invest in some sticky socks if you’ll be doing barre classes on a regular basis. I’ve been using normal socks and I’m sliding all over the place in pushups and planks. At least for the first 20 seconds before I’ve dropped to my knees…..

*Bonus note 2: the floor at Barre Code is a foamy/forgiving surface, so it doesn’t hurt your joints at all to walk or jump on, and it makes it a little more comfortable to sit on the ground, or to be on your hands and knees for butt work, or forearms and toes for planks, etc.

Okay this one kicked my butt, too! I think it’s just the whole barre class idea that totally whoops your butt into shape (literally). But regardless, what an awesome workout. It was similar to the Pure Barre class (see my post from day one), but the instructor put her own twist on it, as I expect every barre instructor does. We started with some jumping jacks and side-step things to get warmed up, then we got right into arms and abs. Planks, pushups, more planks, more pushups, plank-ups (go from forearms to your hands and back down), more planks, one-legged planks while pulsing your raised leg, normal planks as a break from that, switch legs, more pushups…. you get the idea.

Then right when I was going to collapse, we stopped. For about three seconds. Then it was back into a seated position, and tricep dips. And more tricep dips. Keep going, keep going, almost done, and HOLD for 10 seconds. Holy cow I’m gonna feel that tomorrow. But it gets worse better. Arms are just starting. We stand up. Arms straight out, and make little tiny circles. For about a minute. Then make your circles a little bigger (about a foot in diameter) for another minute. Then big circles for another minute. Then if you haven’t collapsed yet, keep your arms out, and flip your palms up. Then pulse up like you’re slightly lifting something. Do about 30 of those, then doorknobs. Then twist in and out, then more doorknobs, then I think my mind stopped recording memories because I was so focused on anything but the pain. And  then we’re done.

Just kidding, it’s legs time. Oh my lord, is it legs time. My butt has never gotten such a workout. Basically the same idea as everything above – make tiny little movements repeatedly, and when you’re done with one, NO BREAK just go to the next movement. Then we did some inner and outer thigh work at the barre (just as butt-kicking as the rest of it had been). And it ended with some cardio braced against the barre – butt kickers, mountain climbers, then wide-legged burpees and touching the bar when you come up.

What an awesome workout. It was fun in the worst possible way. Or awful in the most fun possible way. I can’t decide. Maybe both. But regardless, I’m definitely digging this barre thing. I’m trying another studio on Friday, so I’ll let you know if it’s the workout, the studio, or a combination of both that I’m liking, but rest assured I’m a new-found barre addict!

One thought on “Day Three: Barre Code (bu-dum tssss. get it?)

Leave a comment